The Reading Habits Tag

A blog I follow, Legally Redhead recently posted β€œThe Reading Habits Tag” and I liked the tag.

20140715-003051-1851699.jpg

1. Do you have a certain place for reading at home?

I prefer my room, either on my mini couch or my bed. But if it’s nice out I’ll sometimes go out by my apartments pool.

2. Bookmark or random piece of paper?

I try to use bookmarks, but usually end up sticking a random piece of paper in. I used to dog-ear pages, but that lead to little rips and damaged pages which is just… Shudder inducing for me.

3. Can you just stop reading or do you have to stop after a chapter or a certain number of pages?

I try to only stop between chapters, or page breaks. Half the time I usually end up rereading the last few pages, sometimes a chapter. And if it’s a book that got put down a long while ago sometimes I’ll just start it again.

4. Do you eat or drink when reading?

Yes. I always have a drink nearby, but when I’m reading I’ll forget I have a drink there and only drink at a page break or chapter end that I look up at. Sometimes I eat, if I’m super into what I’m reading but need to eat, because I most likely forgot to earlier.

5. Do you watch TV or listen to music whilst reading?

Yes. I am constantly marathoning some television series, or movie series. So I spend some of my time actually watching, and most of it reading because I know whatever I’m watching. Same with music. I blast music mostly to kind of make a bubble around me. My family bothers me less if I have loud noise on.

6. One book at a time or several at once?

Several. Thus the rereading of books mentioned above. Right now I have three physical books I’m in the middle of, as well as a few eBooks and fanfiction.

7. Reading at home or everywhere?

Preferably at home. But anywhere. I used to get in trouble at school for reading during class. Some of my teachers actually used to take my book before class started. I read everywhere, I just don’t go out often anymore.

8. Reading out loud or silently in your head?

Silently. I do read aloud to my mom sometimes though. She is only fifty, but her eyes can’t focus, even on large print. I also have a speech problem, and sometimes it starts affecting my talking more. So sometimes I do read out loud to practice my speech and entertain my mom.

9. Do you ever read ahead or skip pages?

Only if I’ve already read the book, I’ll skip pages. And once, I was reading a book I wanted to read, because the description on the back was great, but I was nearly a third of the way through it, and bored to tears of it. I’m still not done with that book. I have it, but I don’t even think I’m quite to the middle and it’s just not fun to read. I kept skipping ahead in that one.

10. Breaking the spine or keeping it new?

I try to keep the spine newer. It feels like it’ll last longer if it’s kept all unbroken.

11. Do you write in your books?

No. No, no, no. I don’t underline, highlight, or write in books. That’s why I never got one of those Wreck Me journals. I just can’t. It feels wrong.

12. What are you currently reading?

I am currently reading The Omen Machine, by Terry Goodkind.

20140714-005752-3472923.jpg
His newest book is out August 8, and I finally got the one that came out before that. So I’m reading The Omen Machine, so I can read the latest two.

I don’t know much about tagging other people, but if you’re interested go, do this too!! And come back and tell me so I can read your post.

Leave a Reply

