April Reads

Okay, I am going to try to blog about books. I won’t try to write in depth reviews or anything, because I would suck so hardcore at that. But I’ll write about books I plan on reading that month and books I actually read. And maybe some general fangirling about books.

  

First, I finished The Kiss of Deception by Mary E. Pearson. This book was so good! I couldn’t really get into it when I first picked it up, so I stopped. But when I tried again a few days later, I was in a better mindset, and it was so good. It had a really good twist, I thought. Some people saw it coming, and I kind of did… I just didn’t want it to. But it did.

I also read Jackaby, by William Ritter. I didn’t like this one very much, unfortunately. It was short, and I didn’t get a lot from the characters or setting. It was set in the 1800’s and the main character is a young woman, Abigail Rook, who ran away from school to go find adventure. Then she finds herself working with/for a (BBC’s Sherlock/Cumberbatch-esque) detective, an R. F. Jackaby, who can see the supernatural, and her first day there’s a murder. The plot was pretty interesting, and it had so much potential, but it didn’t really go far for me.

Then, A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwabb. Holy crap this book was so good. Parallel Londons, magic, smugglers, and a wannabe pirate/thief. I mean, what else could you want? I really liked Kell and Lila, and Rhy seems really cool too.  Loved a lot of the dialogue and action. And the fact that Lila is a cross dressing pirate pickpocket. That alone is just so awesome. I like the magic system and the parallel Londons too, I think it was done really well. And the cover and title of the sequel was just realeased, and I’m excited for that next year! I also did some nail art inspired by the amazing US cover. 

Then I found out that I own Shatter Me by Taherah Mafi, as an eBook. Which I was not aware of. So of course I immediately started reading it. It was really good. Some of the writing style annoyed me, like the repeating and certain phrases and little things. But I liked it. I do not know how I feel about the majority of the characters though. I loved Juliette’s character growth, but her as a character, and Adam and Warner I don’t really know what to think about them. I liked Kenji though, I think he was the only one I know I liked. Everyone else I’m just not sure.

I also read Howl by Allen Ginsberg, but the graphic novel version with animations by Eric Drooker. Holy crap, it’s amazing. And I can totally see why it was the object of an obscenity trial in ’57. I read it out loud to my mom, as well, because she’s never read it. And we both loved it. I think it’s amazing. And will probably reread it multiple times over the next few weeks. And the art is so nice, too. I think it goes really well with the poem. And reading the graphic novel version of Howl makes me want to find Illuminated Poems, which is a book Allen Ginsberg and Eric Drooker worked on together in 1996, I think.
  But my copy somehow has a tear in it. I have no idea how it happened. I just got it, not even a month ago. And it was perfect. And then I pulled it out to read, and there was a tear in the cover!

I started reading Hawaii by James A. Michener. I’m still not even forty pages in (there’s about 1,000 pages), but holy crap his writing is magical. I also started Ash, by Malinda Lo. Which I read few years back, and know I loved, but don’t really remember it all that well. So they are what I’m currently reading. 

Leave a Reply

