MAY BOOK HAUL

… I got a lot of books. I got 31 books. That’s a lot of books. A book a day for May.

(I had to stop and try to remember which order I got them in… I mostly got it. I think.)

So first of all I got a huge bind-up of C.S. Lewis’s Chronicles of Narnia. I got the big black edition with an awesome picture of Aslan on it. I also (FINALLY) got J.K. Rowling’s The Casual Vacancy, in paperback with the HBO cover… But whatever, I’m just excited to have it. I got her Harvard speech Very Good Lives, too. It’s so little and lovely, and I’m so pumped.

Then because I’m super nerdy, I got this book called Stuff Matters: Exploring the Marvelous Materials That Shape Our Man-Made World by Mark Miodownik. Which is literally about everyday materials and their weird histories, and scientific breakthroughs of just things, like paper clips, and porcelain, and the elastic in underwear. And that sounds so cool to me. I also got Alan Turing: The Enigma, which is the book that inspired The Imitation Game movie with Benedict Cumberbatch and Keira Knightly. I freaking loved the movie, and the history of it seems so interesting. It’s a freaking beast of a book though…

I also got EIGHT Bryan Lee O’Malley graphic novels, including the entire Scott Pilgrim‘s Precious Little Boxset, the whole series. I’ve seen the movie, of course, and I think it’s awesome, and I’m happy that I have them now. I also got Seconds, which I got as a Kindle sample, and liked it so… The first one I got though was Lost at Seaย and the first line of the back blurb is “Raleigh doesn’t have a soul. A cat stole it – or at least that’s what she tells people – or at least that’s what she would tell people if she told people anything.” And I just like that.

I also got Magonia by Maria Dahvana Headley and I just think it sounds really cool. I also got Thor Goddess of Thunder Vol. 1. In hardcover, which is kinda weird, but I’m super excited about it. Then at CVS I found Dark Skye by Kresley Cole and it’s like the fourteenth book in her Immortals After Dark series. I also just received Leslie Parry’s Church of Marvels, which I’mย looking forward to reading and the cover is freaking pretty.

Then I went to my semi-local favorite used bookstore. (It’s an hour away in the next city but there’s only one bookstore in my actual city.) and I got nine books, for twenty bucks. Go stores that give you credit when you give them books. ๐Ÿ™‚ Otherwise it was almost fifty. First one I found was The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgsonย Burnett, which I already own, but it’s in really bad condition and I’m afraid to read it anymore for fear it’ll fall apart. So new copy. I also found Markus Zusak’s I Am The Messenger. I’m ย halfway through The Book Thief and I love it, so I saw his other book and got it. I also found Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist, by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan. I’ve been wanting it forever, and finally have it. I also found Starry, Starry Night by Lurlene McDaniel, who has never failed to make me cry. I also found How I Live Now by Meg Rosoff, which is another one that is a movie. I haven’t watched it yet, and now I can read it first! And I got David Mitchell’s Cloud Atlas; I got so excited when I saw it on one of the display shelves that I made a weirdย noise and three people turned to look at me. And I’m really into WW2 right now (I’m reading two different books set around that period of time), and was looking for a biography of Winston Churchill. But all I could find was Gandhi and Churchill: The Epic Revelry That Destroyed an Empire and Forged Our Age. I had no idea that there was such a revelry… But I found a big ass book by Arthur Herman about it. While I was in the biography section I found Girlbomb, which is about the author Janice Erlbaum, who left home at 15 and was homeless but still went to school and the clubs, boys, and drugs of New York in the 80’s. Then I picked out a Blind Book Date, and it ended up being The Queen’s Pawn by Christy English; its hints were fiction, history, France, Great Britain, and royalty.

Then I got five ebooks. I got The Fear Trials and The Death Code by Lindsay Cummings. Also got Target Churchill by Warren Adler, which I am almost half way through (and it is so good). ย Then, because they were each $1.99 I got The Paper Magician and The Glass Magician by ย Charlie N. Holmberg. I think the third one is being released soon, so they’re on sale. But yeah, those are the five ebooks I got this month.

I am a horrible person.

Leave a Reply

