June Reads!

I read a lot of books this month! I got through nine books. I’m super proud of that.  

 

I read J.K. Rowling’s Very Good Lives, and I want to stick nearly half of it onto be wall so I can always see them. I like everything in it. You should read it, if you haven’t. It’s quick and really great.
The Buddha in the Attic by Julie Otsuka is a really quick read. I didn’t like the style of it very much, but it still kept me interested and I read it in less than a day. It covers a lot of time, and very many types of women. I wish it had followed just a few women, and told more about them, rather than a large group en mass and not go into detail, which is what it did.But I still liked it.

I also finally (!!!) finished the Death Cure. I do not like James Dashner’s writing style. At all. It took me forever to get through this book, and the Scorch Trials when I read that. I wanted to finish it, and know how it ended. But the ending was bad. I was actually really annoyed when I finally got through it and have it end the way it did. It’s not even the kind of ending that’s heartbreaking, but mostly makes sense (aka Allegiant), it’s just a bad, half-assed ending. (Sorry. I didn’t like it.)

I also finished my Target Churchill ebook. I did take a break from it. (Don’t know why, but I did.) And, I’m super into random history, but I’ve never really gotten into anything about the Cold War, but this made me want to learn more. I loved the various perspectives, and how we got insight from all the different people on different sides of history. If you’re into history at all I think this is a good book to pick up.

Then I started Patrick Ness’s More Than This. And finished it in just over a day. It is definitely one of my favorite books for 2015. I don’t even know how to describe it. But I recommend it. HIGHLY recommend. I didn’t know anything about it going in, and I think that that is how you should go into it. It is amazing.

Then I just picked Rat Queens Vol. 1 off my shelf. It’s so great. I love all the Rat Queens, they were each so different and hilarious. I finished it and immediately ordered Vol. 2, it’s just so fun. If you like off-beat, kick-ass, fighting women, you should find this one.

I meant to read All The Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr in May, but didn’t. So I read it for June. This one I also finished in just over a day. I did pretty much nothing else except read this book. It is so freaking beautiful. I absolutely loved the pacing, and the alternating chapters. They alternated between Marie Laure in Paris and Werner in Berlin, and also in time, flashbacks to their childhoods, and also to when they meet. I seriously can’t even say anything beyond that it was fantastically written, and so beautiful. This is also one of my favorite books this year, but in a different way from More Than This.

On the 25th I started the BBB readathon (hosted by the @bbbgirlies on insta) and my first two books were Crazy Beautiful by Lauren Baratz-Logsted, and Say What You Will by Cammie McGovern. I didn’t like Crazy Beautiful very much, it just was not as good as I was hoping. But Say What You Will is freaking adorable and I cried a few times. I’m going to talk about them more in the readathon wrap-up later.
I started This Book is Gay by James Dawson and Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs. This Book is Gay is one of my readathon books. But I started Miss Peregrine’s because I do not like how This Book is Gay is written. So I’m doing a ‘read this many pages of that, and read a chapter of this’ as a kind of positive reinforcement.

One thought on “June Reads!

Leave a Reply

