July Reads!

Thanks to two different readathons, I read a mountain of books this month. And I’m pretty amazed at myself that I read so much.
Okay the BBB readthon was June 25 to July 5, and I read four of the books in July. First I read Lost at Sea by Bryan Lee O’Malley, for a book by an author I’ve never read before. I really like it, the art style is awesome. The story is a bit weird, but it’s really good.

I finished This Book is Gay by James Dawson, which I had started in June, and was my book that is my favorite color (rainbow). It honestly is not that great. It is great as a starting off point for understanding the LGBT community. But it is very centered on cis gay men and women, in my opinion. I guess I’ve read a lot about LGBT online, and just didn’t find any new information in this. But I still recommend this to anybody who is looking for a kick off to learn more. I found the writing difficult to read though, and it took me a while.

Then I read How I Live Now by Meg Rosoff, for standalone I’ve been iffy about. It was also my first book for Monthlong Readathon, it having a movie adaption. The book was really good, most characters are fleshed out pretty well, especially since the book is pretty short. The romance is really weird. Not going to lie. Daisy the mc is fifteen and her love interest is her fourteen year old cousin Edmond. Yep, cousin. But they never knew each other growing up, and his siblings have no qualm with them being together… but still. Creepy. I try to ignore the fact, because they are a pretty good couple. Also the youngest cousin Piper is awesome and I loved her. *Sidenote; the movie is shit as a book to movie adaption. It might be a good movie, but I can’t get past how bad it is in terms of following the book.

For a book from my least read genre (BBBreadthon) and book of my choice (monthlong readathon), I was planning on reading Paula Hawkins’ The Girl on the Train. I couldn’t get past the first nine pages. I tried several times throughout the day, and just could not get into it. So I picked The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold off my shelf and read that. It’s still a mystery/crime book, so it qualifies. It was great. I liked how it was written, and followed different people. Parts of it made me cry, which isn’t all that surprising since it is from the perspective of Susie, a teenage girl who was murdered. I highly recommend it. It’s a really beautifully written book. *Sidenote; I still need to find the movie. I know Saoirse Ronan plays Susie, and I’ve heard it’s a great movie. So I need to find that. I’ll also try to read the Girl on the Train at some point, but eh. (And that was my last book for the BBB readthon)

Because I found This Book is Gay hard to get through, I ended up alternating chapters with Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs. Which was so awesome, and my book for a first book in a series (monthlong readathon). The whole concept of Miss Peregrine’s is so cool, and so well executed with the old pictures. I really liked all the characters, and the relationships. I wish I had read it sooner. I actually really liked Jacob, I think he was written really well. I liked that he wasn’t super badass and wasn’t quite able to handle everything as it came at him. But I think he managed superbly, and I can’t wait to read Hollow City.

For my blue book I read The Death Code by Lindsay Cummings. It was so good! The alternating chapters confused me a bit this time around though, because some of them were really short and it was hard to separate Meadow and Zephyr’s voices. But it was so awesome! And I am really hoping that there will be a third book. Because that would also be awesome. The pacing is really fast, and the characters are so badass. I wish some parts had been slower and had a bit more explanation, but still. So badass. Eventually I’ll want to buy physical copies of the series, because they’re so pretty.

Then I read a review from Ashley(over at sociallyawkwardbookworm) about None of the Above by I. W. Gregorio, which made me want to read it. So I did. It was a really good story, and I liked the characters. But I couldn’t really connect with Krissy. I don’t know if it was just because her interests and goals are very different from mine, but it really got to me that I wasn’t clicking with her. I did really enjoy the whole story and the characters though. I didn’t think about intersex much, which is part of what made me so interested in this book, and I think it explained it pretty well. And I love that it had resources and different views in it.(Here’s Ashley’s review.)

And for a classic book, I went with Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll. Which I’m surprised it took me this long to read, but I finally did. I loved it. Parts of it were slightly confusing, but I really liked it. I used to love Alice when I was little, because Alice is the English version of Alicia, and I loved that she had the same name as me.

I also read Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan, who I freaking LOVE as co-authors. And I loved this book. I wish it was longer. Because, yes, okay. I just really love the characters and how they interact. I just really love them. Oh, and this one was for cover disgust, because I have the movie cover, and while I love both Kat Dennings and Micheal Cera, movie covers in general I don’t like, so I used this one.

Then, I FINALLY read The Lightning Thief. Finally. Percy Jackson and the Olympians is probably one of the most recommended books ever. I remember when I was younger and I was always told I should read it, but never did back then. I FINALLY HAVE. And it was AWESOME. The movie sucked. I really liked pretty much everything.

And for my intriguing cover, I read a super nerdy book by Mark Miodownik called Stuff Matters: Exploring the Marvelous Materials That Shape Our Man-Made World. And it is SO cool. It changes how you look at nearly everything in the world. And it is so fabulous. It took me a while to read it, because every so often I’d have to stop and let my mind be completely blown. It’s so fascinating, and cool to think about what is in this book. And I loved it so much. Also it has one of those ‘further reading’ pages in the back, and that’s super cool. 

 

Then for my eye candy, I read The Wicked and the Divine Vol. 2 Fandemonium. Holy crap. First of all, the art is completely freaking gorgeous. Second, it was SO awesome. And that ending, damn booiii. So good.

I was planning on rereading a book for the over 300 pages, but decided to read Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson. It was so good! I really love that it’s a different side of Peter Pan, and I really liked that it was from Tinker Bell’s perspective. I loved the characters and all of their interactions, even the small things. And I really loved how non of the characters were perfect; they all had (large, in some cases) flaws in a multitude of ways and I found that really interesting.

Then I read an autobiography, which was my new genre (it’s not necessarily new, but I’ve read only a handful), called Girlbomb by Janice Erlbaum. Which was pretty cool. It’s about Janice as a fifteen year old who left home to stay away from her mother and her crappy step-father. She stayed in a homeless shelter, and was still going to school, and partying with her friends, and all the drugs and boys of New York in the 80’s. And it’s interesting. It makes me want to go find more random autobiographies of people who had all these things happen in their lives.

For my recently purchased I read This Is Not A Love Story by Suki Fleet. Who is now one of my favorite authors. It’s about two boys who live on the streets, Romeo, who is mute and an artist, and Julian, who protects him. It’s from Romeo’s perspective, and holy crap, the writing is so beautiful. The first time they meet, Romeo is getting beaten up by a gang of boys, and Julian rescues him by running in and swinging a metal bar he found on the street. And so much happens to them, and they’re both so young and strong. And I literally, just love them so freaking much. It’s definitely a freaking love story, and it’s such a good one. I cried, and smiled, and laughed, and just this book is so fantastic, and I HIGHLY recommend. (PS this beautiful review is better than anything I could ever say about this book.)

Then for my hyped book, I read The Opposite of Loneliness by Marina Keegan, which was published posthumously by her family. I think I agree with those who said her story propelled her writing into more than what it is, but I also think that what it is, is quite beautiful. I didn’t like the fiction pieces a whole lot, they were all good but I personally didn’t think any of them were outstanding. Her nonfiction essays, on the other hand, I love. They were all great, and Stability in Motion is my favorite, followed by Why We Care About the Whales. 

 

There was another favorite color book, and I chose ODY-C Vol. 1 by Matt Fraction and Christian Ward (and the cover is a trippy multicolored explosion). Holy crap, I loved the art style and coloring in this. The world is weird, but super interesting, and I loved the Greek pantheon. I was confused by some parts, so I did have to go back and reread quite a few times. But I think this is really cool. I don’t know how well it translates from Homer’s Odyssey, but I got this as a kind of baby step to read the Odyssey. Which I will do at some point, as well as keep reading this.

Then I also read Thor The Goddess of Thunder Vol. 1. Because I really wanted to. It was cool. I’ve never read an Avenger comic, and I think this was a decent first foray into the verse. There were some references to previous issues, but they were noted and actually said what past issue it was from so you you go find it if you wanted to understand fully. It wasn’t super mind-blowing, but I liked both the new Thor and the old Odinson, and Freya was pretty cool. I’ll keep reading this one, because I want to see how Thor does, and who she is!

I also started The Book of Bright Ideas by Sandra Kring. I’m about a third of the way through it, but I’m going to be putting it aside for BookTubeAThon. It’s a bit slow, but good so far.

3 thoughts on “July Reads!

  1. You’ve read so many awesome books! πŸ™‚
    So glad you liked None of the Above.
    Thanks for mentioning my review!
    The Lightning Thief (and entire series) is SO good!
    I can’t wait to read Tiger Lily! I got the e-book last month. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

