Barnes and Noble book haul!

Okay so about halfway through July I ordered several books, and when I received my order a week later, they weren’t mine. It was three books for a woman in Wyoming. I sent them back and over several emails later, I got a full refund. I kind of wanted to not order from Barnes and Noble again… but I saw some really awesome prices on some really awesome books. And so I tried again.

Here’s what I got.

A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens

The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and My. Hyde and Other Stories by Robert Louis Stevenson

Hard-Boiled Wonderland and the End of The World by Haruki Murakami

The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman

The Martian by Andy Weir

The Greatest Adventures of Sherlock Holmes by Arthur Conan Doyle

20,000 Leagues Under the Sea and Other Classic Novels by Jules Verne

Jane Austen; Four Classic Novels by Jane Austen

Grimm’s Complete Fairy Tales by the Brothers Grimm

Les Miserables by Victor Hugo

 So I want to read more classics, and nearly everything I got is a classic, or is really popular and considered a kind of new classic. A Tale of Two Cities has always interested me, I don’t even fully understand what it is about, but I got it. Same with The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, and most of what I know about Jekyll and Hyde comes from The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen movie (sadly a lot of the little I know about classic literary figures comes from that movie, and a few others).

I really want to start reading Haruki Murakami, and I found a blog post (Here -if you want to read it too.) about where you should start, because his work is pretty mindbending and complex. And Hard-Boiled Wonderland and the End of the World was one of the ones they recommended to start with. So I got it, and I’m really excited about it. Plus I think the cover is really pretty.

Then I have my first Neil Gaiman book, The Ocean at the End of the Lane. Which I’m currently about two-thirds of the way through for BookTube-a-thon. I really like it. It’s imaginative and wild, but also somehow, believable for what it is.

 The Martian I’m actually pretty iffy on. I got it because some of me is interested, and then bloggers/booktubers who I really like, like it. And then the fact that they’re putting Matt Damon’s face on the new cover made me buy this edition, now, before his face is the more widely available edition. I don’t like Matt Damon, I don’t care how popular he is, and I don’t want a book with his face on it. But I do want to read this at some point, and everybody says it’s hilarious and that it’s really good. So… yeah.

Then we have The Greatest Adventures of Sherlock Holmes, which is comprised of four complete novels, and forty-four short stories. Which is freaking mind-blowing to me. It’s also really pretty, the dust jacket and the book underneath. I love BBC’s Sherlock, and I really want to read the actual stories. Plus the whole book was FOUR dollars. Like, what? Yes, okay, yes. (The rest of the books were all four or five dollars, which is what made me buy them all.)

I read All The Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr in June, and one of the main characters was reading 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea, and her love of it made me want to read it too. And I saw this collection by Jules Verne which had not only 20,000 Leagues, but five other novels, I was like, yes, please. A Journey to the Center of the Earth is in it, and so it Around the World in 80 Days, and I’ve wanted to read those for a while now too.

 And because Jane Austen is one of the authors that  is herself a classic, and not just her books, I got a collection of novels by her as well. In it are Sense and Sensibility, Pride and Prejudice, Emma, and Persuasion. I don’t know much about any of them, to be completely honest. But I’m looking forward to reading them.

 Then, we have Grimm’s Complete Fairy Tales. With over 200 stories! Like, what? I’m super excited about this one. I grew up with a daycare teacher for a mom (and pseudo-aunt), and five other girls all around my age (two older aunts, two older cousins, and one younger cousin all born between 1990 and 1999) so I know the Disney movies because they were practically always on. But Grimm’s fairy tales I don’t actually know! I know they are far darker than their Disney counterparts, and that is just so freaking exciting to me.

And finally we have Les Miserables by Victor Hugo. Which is a horrifying brick of a book. And a classic, that I think will be an amazing read. I know pieces of the story, but overall, no clue what it’s all about. I do know it’ll take me a while to work up the courage to actually start this one.

And that is what I got from Barnes and Noble. So many books. I’m really happy I got them though, because so many people do love them. I hope I will too.

2 thoughts on “Barnes and Noble book haul!

Leave a Reply

