Massive August book haul (seriously, bad me)

Okay I’ve already posted two book hauls this month… But I still have a lot of other books that I got this month. Because I am a horrible person, who wasn’t supposed to buy any extra books this month. That did not work out. At All. And so without further ado;

You by Caroline Kepnes

You’re Never Weird on the Internet (Almost) by Felicia Day

Lair of Dreams by Libba Bray

Legacy of Kings by Eleanor Herman

 

 Okay, I honestly don’t know much about You, other than it’s supposed to be pretty creepy, and involves stalking and social media. And I am really big into social media, so it interests me, even though I’m not into suspense/mystery/horror stories. And You’re Never Weird on the Internet (Almost), I mean how could I NOT have gotten this? I’m so frickin’ excited to read it. Also, it arrived on a Sunday, which just proves how magical Felicia Day is. Then I got Lair of Dreams, which I’m so happy to have, because The Diviners was one of the first books I read when I was getting back into reading last year. I don’t think it’ll be as creepy though, I mean Naughty John, man. There’s supposed to be more Henry, who I love, so I’m looking forward to reading it. Legacy of Kings sounds so awesome, and I read the prequel ebook already, which has me so interested in the world. I love that Eleanor Herman is an actual historian though, I think that it’ll make the world so much richer and gives the whole story a cool edge.

If I Stay by Gayle Foreman

Where She Went by Gayle Foreman

City of Glass by Cassandra Clare

City of Fallen Angels by Cassandra Clare

 

 I don’t know all that much about If I Stay, except that a girl (Mia?) and her family are in an accident, and she has to make a choice to live or die? And there’s a movie, and the soundtrack is supposed to be amazing. And Where She Went is the sequel, so I’m assuming she lives… but beyond that, nothing. Then books three and four of The Mortal Instruments series. I just read city of Bones, and I’m about to start City of Glass. So I got these so I can keep reading, and yes.

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

Naomi and Ely’s No Kiss List by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan

Empress of the World by Sara Ryan

Peter Pan by J. M .Barrie

 

 So I got A Monster Calls because I really loved More Than This by Patrick Ness, and the art in this/on the cover is so nice. And I’ve heard really great things about it, so I’m hoping I’ll get to this soon. Then I FINALLY got Naomi and Ely’s No Kiss List, I love Rachel Cohn and David Levithan as co-authors, and I loved Nick and Norah, and Dash and Lily is one of my favorite books. I’ve been wanting this for ages, and just got it because there is a movie now, so I really need to read it before that comes out. I’ve owned Empress of the World for years now as an ebook. It’s one of the handful I’ve gone back to reread multiple times. But I own it as  Barnes and Noble nook book, and that app just does not work correctly for me. So I bought a physical copy, and it has graphic novel stories and an intro by David Levithan, which, yes. Then I got the Puffin Classic Chalk Edition of Peter Pan, which is so freaking pretty. I wanted to read Peter Pan again, but I can’t find the copy I had and read as a kid. So I figure I must’ve traded it in at my local used bookstore, but I found this online and it was so pretty.

Are You in the Mood? by Stephenie Lehmann

The Girl with the Pearl Earring by Tracy Chevalier

Final Beginnings by John Edward and Natasha Stoynoff

a + e 4ever by i. Merey

 

 Okay, I got a Bookcase box this month, which is three random books. I got Are You in the Mood? Which actually doesn’t sound bad, despite the slightly awkward title. The tag line/blurb is “Sex, Motherhood, Insanity. Will my real life please stand up?” And it’s about an actress who wants to be on Broadway and have all the glamor that goes being famous. But she gets pregnant and she marries her psychiatrist boyfriend and suddenly she’s in the world of mommy-and-me classes, nannies, and blandness. Then she meets a Broadway director and starts living a second life as a single, childless actress… Sounds pretty interesting to me. Then Girl With a Pearl Earring is about Griet, the sixteen year old girl in 1660 Holland who inspired Vermeer’s painting. I think this one will be really fascinating. I love historical fiction, I just hope it’s beautifully written, because that really helps. The third is Final Beginnings, which is about eight different people in post 9/11 New York during a terrorist attack. I don’t know how I feel about the story taking place during a terror attack, but I really like stories about a bunch of different people. It doesn’t say on the back that they’re connected one way or another, but I hope they are. I only got one graphic novel this month and it’s a + e 4ever. It’s about an androgynous boy named Asher who gets bullied by the boys and the girls for being too feminine and for being a boy. By the time he’s in high school he has a serious phobia of being touched. Then he meets Eulalia, “a tough talking dyke from school” and they become friends through art, loneliness, and being different. It’s about being queer and genderqueer, and I haven’t come across a book quite like this one. The art style is pretty interesting too, kind of like black and white sketches. I’m really excited for it, and I hope I like it.

Books Found in my Grandma’s Garage/ the Shed in the Backyard

The Host by Stephenie Meyer

Not Without My Sister by Kristina Jones, Celeste Jones, and Juliana Buhring

Little Women by Louisa May Alcott

The DaVinci Code by Dan Brown

Street Pharm by Allison van Diepen

The Call of the Wild/ White Fang by Jack London

 

 I got my older cousin into reading by making her read Twilight back before all the hate against it started, and she actually read and loved The Host back then too. I’m not super into the alien thing, but I found it in a box, so why not? Not Without My Sister is the story of three sisters where were raised into a cult, basically. One of the ultra religious ones, were the religion is all warped and involved sexual abuse starting as children by men old enough to be their grandfathers. It’s a true account, and sound horrifying and probably heartbreaking. Then I found Little Women, which you know, is Little Women. I don’t know anything about what it is actually about. And then The DaVinci Code is so freaking well known and popular, and there’s that movie with that guy, and why not? According to Goodreads, it is also a sequel. Do you need to read the first? Will I be lost if I don’t read it? Then Street Pharm just sounded kinda interesting. Finally, The Call of the Wild/ White Fang is by Jack London who was so local it isn’t even an hour drive to his house from mine. I’ve been wanting to read it for a while, and this one definitely has the coolest cover I’ve seen yet. And it doesn’t have an isbn or a barcode thing so I can’t find my awesome edition on Goodreads.

Ebooks

Voice of Gods by Eleanor Herman

Wild Summer by Suki Fleet

Lima Oscar Victor Echo and the Truth About Everything by Suki Fleet

Stray by Elissa Strussman

The Last Time We Say Goodbye by Cynthia Hand

Nor Iron Bars a Cage by Kaje Harper

The Family We’re Born With by Kaje Harper

Into Deep Waters by Kaje Harper

Hawaii By James A. Michener

First Voice of Gods, is the prequel novella for Legacy of Kings, and I already read it, and loved it. Wild Summer is a companion novel to This Is Not A Love Story, which I again, have already read and my love for Suki Fleet knows no bounds. I love her writing. I also got Lima Oscar Victor Echo because it’s by Suki Fleet and it was free. Then Stray and The Last Time We Say Goodbye were on sale through Epic Reads, and they both seem pretty awesome. Then the three books by Kaje Harper were free, and were recommended to me on Kindle based on my interest in Suki Fleet. So, I figured why not. Then Hawaii I got because I had a copy that I was borrowing from a friend of my moms. But I’ve had it since March I think, but I was reading it really slowly and I kept wanting to highlight practically entire passages. It’s so beautifully written, but I never write in books, so I got the ebook so I can highlight and not hate myself.

One thought on “Massive August book haul (seriously, bad me)

Leave a Reply

