September BOOK HAUL!

I consiously tried not to buy books this month. I did good. For the most part. I tried to keep to the preorders I had previously ordered. I think I did well.

I counted them. I did not do well…

Anne and Henry by Dawn Ius

Cut Both Ways by Carrie Mesrobian

Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

I read about Anne & Henry on a blog last year, I think. The concept of it seems really cool, a modern King Henry and Anne Boleyn. Cut Both Ways I’m really excited to read. It’s about a boy who has a girlfriend but is also attracted to his male best friend. Recently I’ve heard some pretty mixed things about the bisexual representation though. But I’m still hoping it’s great. Then Everything, Everything is pretty hyped up. But it seems awesome and adorable, and the cover is super pretty.

 

Fans of the Impossible Life by Kate Scelsa

I Crawl Through It by A. S. King

Library of Souls by Ransom Riggs

Fans of the Impossible Life just sounds really amazing. It’s about a girl named Mira and her best friend Sebby, and a boy named Jeremy who meets them for the first time. And their magic, and improptu road trips, and the secrets they keep to protect themselves and fix the broken parts of their lives. Then I Crawl Through It has an amazingly vague and intriguing synopsis, but I recently read Ask the Passengers by A. S. King so I went for it. It’s about four teenagers who are under intense anxiety and stress and about to crack, and will do anything to escape the pressure. Then, of course, Library of Souls is the third novel of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children series. I’m currently reading Hollow City, so I’m excited for this one.

 

The Essential Ginsberg edited by Micheal Schumacher

The Walled City by Ryan Graudin

Your Voice is All I Hear by Leah Scheier

First of all, I got the Essential Ginsberg from my local physical bookstore, which I rarely do. This has songs, poems, letters, journals, interviews by Allen Ginsberg in chronological order. I’m really excited to read this, because Ginsberg is really interesting to me. Also I paid full price for this book. The Walled City is about three teens who live in a lawless, ruthless city. One runs drugs for most dangerous kingpin while trying to escape his past and looking for freedom. One hides under the radar, disguised as a boy and searching for her lost sister. The third is the missing sister, trapped in a brothel and dreaming of escape while watching other girls try and fail. It sounds fast paced and exciting. Then Your Voice is All I Hear is about a girl whose boyfriend lives in a mental hospital, and she is the only one he trusts. He has a truamatic past, and she is trying to help him work past his distrust and paranoia and get his doctor to be able to fully help him.

 

Sea Glass by Anita Shreve

The Guy Not Taken: Stories by Jennifer Wiener

Some Assembly Required by Lynn Kiele Bonasia

Okay, these three came in another Bookcase Box, which I hadn’t realized I was getting. But anyways, the first is Sea Glass which is about a newlywed couple in 1929 who are building a life together in an old beach house, and then various troubles arise and an old secret is revealed. Then The Guy Not Taken is a collection of eleven stories about different people, and different relationships that happen over a lifetime. And the third is Some Assembly Required, and is about a woman named Rose whose is content with her safe life, she has her steady job, and steady long-term boyfriend. Then he betrays her. And she decides there must be more to life, so she quits her job and moves to Cape Cop to find a new, happier future. I’ll be honest and say I’m pretty iffy on all three of these, but none of them sound bad or uninteresting. I don’t think I’ll read them soon, but I will probably read them at some point.

 

The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender by Leslye Walton

Descender Vol. 1 Tin Stars by Jeff Lemire and Dustin Nguyen

I’m extremely excited for The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender. I’ve just heard amazing things about it, and it sounds so cool. I’m excited to finally have this book, because I’ve wanted it for a long time. And the cover is gorgeous and I’m so happy they didn’t change the paperback edition. Then Descender is about a robot boy named TIM-21 and his companions in a universe where all andriods have been outlawed. It seems fun, and the art is really nice.

eBooks

Queen Song by Victoria Aveyard

Unnatural Creatures: Stories Collected by Neil Gaiman

Side Affects May Vary by Julie Murphy

Not a Drop to Drink by Mindy McGinnis

 These ebooks were onsale and 2 or 3 dollars, which makes me feel better about how many books I got this month. Queen Song is a prequel novella for Red Queen about Coriane, King Tiberias’ first wife. It’s her journal recording her friendship with the crown prince, the challenges of royal life, and the birth of her son Cal. I’ve already read it and thought it was really good. Then Unnatural Creatures are a series of short stories about fantastical creatures. I think it’ll be awesome, and I’ll probably read it next month. Side Affects May Vary is about a girl named Alice who is diagnosed with leukemia, and it isn’t looking good. So she decides to complete her bucket list, which is as much about getting revenge as it is about hope and helping people. When all her scored are settled, she gets the news that she’s in remission. And she has to face all the consequenses. I feel like most people have read Not a Drop to Drink, but it’s about a girl, Lynn in a world where there’s no water. Her life is about survival, and that mean protecting the pond, but strangers are coming, and Lynn has what they want. I mostly got it because Margot from Epic Reads loved it and talked about it a lot during Tea Time videos a while back.

Okay I got a lot of books. Bad me. Again.

2 thoughts on “September BOOK HAUL!

Leave a Reply

