My Life in Books -tag!

So I saw this tag over on Ashley’s blog, like always! (Her post is here.) And I think it’s really fun. So here we go!

1. a book for each of your initials

My initials are AMO.

Alanna: the First Adventure by Tamora Peirce

More Than This by Patrick Ness

(The) Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaimen 

2. count your age on your bookshelf- what book is it?

I’m 19, and the nineteenth book on my rainbow TBR shelf is I Am The Messenger by Markus Zusak

3. a book set in your city/ state/ country

The Wild Girls by Pat Murphy

This takes place in Danville, CA, which is about an hour and a half away from where I live. I read this when I was in middle school, and thought it was BEYOND cool that this was set so near to me. I still think it’s cool.

 4. a book that represents a place you want to travel to

Moloka’i by Alan Brennert

Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan

I’ve read and reread both of these books. Moloka’i takes place in Hawai’i, mostly on the island of  Moloka’i as the main character has leprosy and lived in the leper colony that was there. But the way the island is described, and the history of it makes it just so unbelievably appealing to me.

Dash and Lily is New York City at Christmas time. I love this book, and the characters are so different in how they see and feel about the city during the holidays. But New York, you know. I’m from a small town, and doesn’t every person who grows up in a small town want to at least see New York? Also The Strand bookstore plays a big part in this book, and I want to go there so badly! 

5. book that is your favorite color

This Book Is Gay by James Dawson

Even though it contains pretty basic information that I already knew, the cover of this book is rainbow and awesome. 

6. a book that you have the fondest memory of?

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by J.K. Rowling

Basically the whole series represents my childhood, but my copy of Goblet of Fire has a story to it. First of all, Harry Potter was all I read from when I was four till I was ten. At one point in fourth grade someone stole my Goblet of Fire. And I was so sad, and mad, and complained so much that a teacher who didn’t even know me bought me another copy.

Another story is how in second grade, I switched schools. So I didn’t have any friends and spent every recess reading Harry Potter. Then one day, a girl came and stole my book (I think it was Chamber of Secrets, but I’m not sure). She said she would keep it until I played with her. And that is how I got my best friend. And she still is, about twelve years later, my closest friend.  

 
7. the book that was the most difficult to read

Dragonfly in Amber by Diana Gabaldon

I started this my sophomore year of high school, didn’t realize it was the second in a series. But it took me forever to get to seventy pages, where I still am, in that book. It’s really boring, and basically nothing happened in those seventy pages. And I don’t think I’ll ever actually read Outlander, or finish Dragonfly in Amber. 

8. which book on your TBR pile will give you the biggest sense of accomplishment when you finish it?

Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien or Alan Turing: The Enigma by Andrew Hodges

I’ve tried once to read the Hobbit a while back, but couldn’t concentrate on it. But I really want to read it and the trilogy itself because it’s been recommended to me since I was a kid, and it’s such a popular, well loved series of books. I’ll be so freaking proud of myself once I read them.

And then Alan Turing; the Enigma is such a brick. It is so physically thick, but contains such an important information. Both about Alan Turing, and the impact he had on math, technology, and WW2. There’re a couple more I know I’d feel accomplished upon finishing, but these two popped into my head first. 

Leave a Reply

