Top 5 Wednesday- Graphic Novels

Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly blog/video post about your top 5 of the topic. There’s a group on Goodreads HERE, if you want to check out the topics and join in.

Sorry I’m so late with this post. My cousin just moved in with us so I was busy with that.  

This week it’s my Top 5 Graphic Novels. I did include one comic collection and one manga, but whatever. 

 

Goth by Otsuichi and Kendi Oiwa

Seconds by Bryan Lee O’Malley

Howl by Allen Ginsberg and Eric Drooker

Blue is the Warmest Color by Julie Maroh

The Wicked + the Divine Vol. 1 The Faust Act by Kieron Gillen, Jamie McKelvie, Matthew Wilson, and Clayton Cowles


 

  Goth is a manga that is four stories about two murder obsessed teens. It’s pretty creepy and gruesome. I’m pretty sure it was the first manga I ever read, and now that I think about it, I really have no idea how I found it. But it’s great and the art is black and white and cool, and the story is pretty intense.

 

 Seconds is about a chef named Katie who runs a successful restaurant, and is working on opening an even better one. Then progress on the new restaurant stalls, her ex-boyfriend shows up, her fling with another chef goes bad, and her best waitress is injured. Luckily for Katie, a mysterious girl appears in the middle of the night and offers her instructions on how to get a do-over. And things spiral out of control and a lot of shit goes down… It’s pretty epic and hilarious. And surprisingly deep and (to steal a word from it’s back cover reviews) haunting. 

 

 I talked about Howl in my T5W Banned Books post last week, but had to include it this week. I do have the graphic novel edition of the poem with artwork by Eric Drooker. The drawings paint the most fantastic background for the verses. I’m pretty sure I went through the book about five different times to focus on either the words or the art or individual pages. If you haven’t read Howl, I really do recommend getting this graphic novel edition of it. 

 

 Then Blue is the Warmest Color is a beautiful graphic novel about a girl named Clementine. She’s got a boyfriend, but she doesn’t really have feelings either way for him. Then she sees a blue haired girl. And can’t stop thinking about her. And I don’t know how to fully describe it without giving away some of the plot. It does have quite a few sex scenes, and the overall story is pretty mature I think. But it’s beautiful and actually quite sad at parts.  

Also a mention goes to the Scott Pilgrim series. I didn’t want to not include them, but couldn’t pick my favorite out of the six. So, yes. 

Leave a Reply

