How I Read -tag!

Hey, so this isn’t a Top 5 Wednesday post, obviously. (This was supposed to be posted, I had it scheduled. But whatever.) This weeks topic was Halloween/Horror/Spooky reads, and honestly horror stories in general just aren’t my thing. Creepy things, yeah, but not books or movies. So instead I’m doing this How I Read tag, which I have seen a whole bunch of places, but most recently over at Jessica’s blog Mud and Stars, and her post is HERE if you want to check it out.


How do you find out about new books to read?

I find new books a whole bunch of places. I’m on instagram/bookstagram a lot, so especially if it’s a beautiful cover, I find very many books. Through BookTube and Goodreads I can learn more about a lot of books. And then through Amazon’s ‘recommended for you’ things that they have. I also get different newsletter emails from a couple publishers and bookish sites, that show me a whole bunch of new books from different genres.

How did you get into reading?

I have always read. I started reading at four, and my mom was a preschool teacher so I had access to all the books that were there. But when I turned six we moved and I changed schools, and that’s when I really started reading. Because I didn’t know anybody and was too shy to try and make friends all I’d do at recess and lunch was read Harry Potter. And then almost literally, never put the series down.

How has your taste in books changed since you got older?

Until I was ten I just read Harry Potter over and over again. Then my moms friend gave me The Song of the Lioness series by Tamora Pierce. So I started reading fantasy and mostly stuck to that. Then I started reading romance novels when I was thirteen, I think. Then until I was sixteen-ish I read mostly ‘adult’ books, fiction and some non-fiction, and things that always seemed to impress my teachers when I got caught reading in class. Then I got swallowed by tv shows and fandoms and didn’t read actual books again until last fall. I still read fanfiction, but still. I read mostly YA now I think… but still like most other genres.

How often do you buy books?

Too often. But I almost always buy online, because I always try to save money when book buying. I almost never buy a book full price, unless I really really want it, or has something extra going for it. I hate buying anything full price. (Which is my excuse for buying practically everything online and never going into stores because uugghh, people.) 

How did you get into book reviewing?

I don’t really think I’m into book reviewing. I rate them on Goodreads, but I can’t articulate what I think about books in type. I talk about pretty much every book I read with my mom, because she can’t read anymore and likes hearing about what I’m reading.

How do you react when you don’t like the end of a book?

Vent to my mom, mostly. Or flailing via text and emojis on social media.

How often do you sneak peek at the ending to see if it’s a happy one?

Never. I don’t like skipping ahead, I don’t do that. Okay, well sometimes I peek ahead a page or a chapter if things are currently boring, and I want to see if anything is actually going to happen relatively soon. But never the ending. Even if I don’t like a book, and don’t want to keep reading it, I just stop wherever it was that I decided to quit.


One thought on “How I Read -tag!

Leave a Reply

