October Book Haul!

So I hardly read at all this month due to a horrible reading slump, but I got quite a few awesome books! So here they are!

 

The Girl and the Bomb by Jari Järvelä

Very in Pieces by Megan Frazer Blakemore

 The Girl and the Bomb is about Rust and Metro, a Finnish couple who are graffiti artists by night, always one step ahead of police. Until one night they’re ambushed by rogue security guards and Rust falls to his death. Metro is having a lot of trouble even trying to move past his death, because they’ve left their art all over the city. But she’s determined to figure out Rust’s death, and get back at those responsible, the best way she knows how: spray paint. It just sounds really cool, and interesting. Also the cover is freaking beautiful. Then Very in Pieces is about a girl named Very whose family is kind of unraveling around her. Her younger sister is running wild, her father keeps leaving, and her mom won’t stop drinking. And her grandmother is slipping away. She’s always been the one that is together; she’s the obliging girlfriend and the one that does what she’s supposed to. But if everything else is falling to pieces, why can’t she? I’ll be honest and say it was the cover that first drew me to this one, but the story sounds pretty emotional and just feels- you know? I’m also interested in Very’s character because I feel like to an extent, I’ll be able to relate to her, and that was mostly why I actually got this one.

 

Carry On by Rainbow Rowell

Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard: The Sword of Summer by Rick Riordan

Okay I’ve read Eleanor and Park and Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell and loved them both so much. And the fact that Carry On is kind of a fanfiction just made this an auto-buy. I am addicted to fanfiction, and I loved the little excerpts of Carry On that were in Fangirl. I just think Carry On will be so epic, and I’m really excited to read about Simon and Baz. Then I also bought The Sword of Summer, but I’ll be honest and say I don’t know when I’ll actually read it. I still have two more of the Percy Jackson series to read, and I feel like I need to at least read them before starting Magnus Chase. I think I’d want to read the Heros of Olympus series before too, but considering I don’t have them, I dunno. Still. Freaking exciting.

 

The Amazing Book Is Not On Fire by Dan Howell, Phil Lester

 Binge by Tyler Oakley

Okay both of these are just awesome. I’ve been watching Phil, Dan, and Tyler for such a long time on youtube. And having these books in my possession is just so freaking amazing. I don’t know when I’ll read them, but I get all happy just looking at them.

 Welcome to Night Vale by Joesph Fink and Jeffrey Cranor

Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

 Illuminae just sounds really awesome, and I think the mixed media/format of it is so cool. I have no idea if I’ll actually like reading it, but it’s so pretty. I don’t think I’ve read or watched anything like it, my brand of science fiction is more Doctor Who and like superhero stuff, and this is more Battlestar Galactica (from what I’ve seen from various reviews anyway, I don’t know). And then I’m so pumped for the weird that is in Welcome to Night Vale. I love the WTNV podcast, even though I’m not  caught up with it (I’m actually only like fifteen-ish episodes in, I think) I think it’s so cool. A really big part of me wants to find the audiobook to read along to when I  do read it. Because Cecil’s voice is the best. I love his voice.

 

The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness

Injection Vol. 1 by Warren Ellis, Declan Shalvey, Jordie Bellaire

 I love the idea of The Rest of Us Just Live Here. I love that it’s not about the ‘Chosen One’ and I know it’ll be an amazing read, because Patrick Ness is an amazing author. Then the only comic I got this month is Injection, and the first line of its’ summary is “Once upon a time, there were five crazy people, and they poisoned the 21st century.” And that is just really intriguing to me. The five people were geniuses, and they were supposed to come up with ideas about how to help the future, but of course, it didn’t quite go as planned. I just think it sounds interesting, and so I hope that it is.

 

Signs Point to Yes by Sandy Hall

Golden Boy by Abigail Tarttelin

I finally bought Golden Boy. It’s about a boy named Max who is a golden boy; perfect son and friend, smart, athletic, kind. His mother carefully maintains that they’re a perfect family, and his father is running for Parliment. But the family has a secret, and that is that Max is intersex. And when a friend betrays him and his secret, he starts to wonder why it is such a secret. And This book has been on my Amazon wishlist for so long, and it was Intersex Awareness Day on October 26, and so I bought Golden Boy. I’ve only read one other book about an intersex character, and I didn’t really love or connect well to that character, and this book I feel is pretty well known and liked. So yes. Then Signs Point to Yes is about Jane and Teo, a superstitious fangirl and a boy looking for his biological father. Jane is babysitting Teo’s siblings for the summer, his best friend hates her, her sister is trying to come out as bisexual, and there are questions and secrets everywhere. If this is anything like Sandy Hall’s A Little Something Different, I’m sure I’ll love it. It sounds really good, and the cover is really cute.

eBooks

  

Faking Normal by Courtney C. Steven

The Collectors by Philip Pullman

The Casual Enchantment series (Anathema, Asylum, Allegiance, and Anomoly) by K. A. Tucker

Gaysia: Adventures in the Queer East by Benjamin Law

I’ll be honest and say I don’t know much about Faking Normal, but Jesse from JesseTheReader on booktube really liked it, and it was on sale. The Collectors is a short story about Mrs. Coulter from the His Dark Materials trilogy, as a girl, and I think it’ll be really interesting. I got the Casual Enchantment series mostly because it was $4.99 for all four, and I’m really interested in K. A. Tucker’s two other series, Burying Water and Ten Tiny Breaths. And I actually have no idea what the Casual Enchantment series is about. Then Gaysia: Adventures in the Queer East, is basically what the title says. Benjamin Law grew up in Melbourne, where it’s pretty okay to be gay and open about it, but as the child of immigrants, he started thinking about what life would have been like had he grown up in Asia. And so he went to Asia and meet all kinds of people from “Tokyo’s celebrity drag queens to HIV-positive Burmese sex workers and Malaysian ex-gay Christian fundamentalists” and went to Balinese sex resorts, Thai ladyboy beauty contests, and even Indian yoga classes that were supposed to cure him of his homosexuality. And I think it sounds amazing, moving, and just really cool. I also got it on sale for $1.99 which is so great.

One thought on “October Book Haul!

  1. Now that’s a book haul. Mine are like 3 book hauls. Pitiful. A lot of these look good! I actually didn’t like Eleanor and Park at all, but Carry On has inspired me to give Rowell another shot, I’m so curious about the HP-Diversity angle! Gotta read Fangirl first though!

Leave a Reply

