T5W -Books I Didn’t Finish 

Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly blog/vlog post created by Lainey over at GingerReadsLainey on youtube. There is a new topic every week, and you talk about you Top 5 books based off the topic. You can find the topics over at the Goodreads group if you want to join in, or you can check out other posts and participates at the Complete List of Wednesday-ers.

This weeks’ theme is Top 5 Books You Didn’t finish. I don’t think I leave that many books unfinished. I have a small stack of them, and so here a handful. 

  

Books that I’m done with

Dragonfly in Amber by Diana Gabaldon

The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

The Geek and His Artist by Hope Ryan

Books that I’m picking up again at some point

Sophie’s World: the History of Philosophy by Jostein Gaarder

Witch-Hunt: Mysteries of the Salem Witch Trials by Marc Aronson

I first tried to read Dragonfly in Amber during my sophomore year of high school (about 4yrs ago) and it took what felt like for-freaking-ever to get 70 pages in. Where I still am in that book. When I started it I wasn’t aware it was a sequel, but if Outlander is written in the same style, which I assume it is, I definitely won’t pick it up. In the 70 pages that I did read, a man crossed from one side of a cluttered house, to the door where Claire was knocking, and then together they walked back through the overly cluttered house to the study.  70 pages. Just no. I don’t like it, and I don’t particularly want to try Outlander. Sorry to those who love it, but it’s pretty boring to me.

I got nine pages into The Girl on the Train. Which I had to read several times over and I’m pretty sure I still missed pieces. I’ve tried twice, and nine pages is the farthest I’ve gotten. So… I don’t really have much to say. I can’t even remember any specific thing from what I did read.

Then The Geek and His Artist by Hope Ryan was so bad that I actually returned it (I had an ebook edition), and got a refund, which I have literally never done before. I think I got 20% into it… and just ugh. It was so insta-lovey. The two main characters (I can’t even remember their names…) went from not knowing each other and hopelessly crushing on each other from a distance and believing the other didn’t notice him to dating, holding hands, and saying they loved each other. After only a two/three hour tutoring session worth of time actually knowing each other. Like, what? No. Especially because one of the boys is being seriously abused by his father. It honestly annoys me just from thinking about it.

Sophie’s World: The History of Philosophy was book I started -and don’t remember why I put down- during my sophomore year. It’s supremely interesting and educational. I remember my English teacher being impressed and telling me that her Junior Honors class was reading it at that time. I remember freaking loving, and rereading whole sections of this book, both to make sure I understood it and because the writing and information was amazing. I think I took a break from this one either when I moved to an alternative school or when my mom got sick that year.  I think I’ll make it a goal to start this one over again and finish it next year.

Sophomore year was apparently a year for not finishing books. Witch-Hunt I believe I only got a few sections into. It’s a non-fiction book about the actual witch trials that occurred in the 1600’s in Salem, Massachusetts. The formatting of this book is what throws me off when I try to read this one. There’s a trial that is from records that’s written in present tense, third person perspective (I think), and photographs, then there are copied transcripts in old English, with definitions and weird things like that. But I think the information the book holds is really fascinating and I want to read it. Especially when you think about all the hype that the Salem Witch Trials had, and I think in reality, only sixteen girls/women were convicted of witchcraft and executed as witches.

One thought on “T5W -Books I Didn’t Finish 

Leave a Reply

