T5W- Books You’re Thankful For

Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly blog/vlog post created by Lainey over at GingerReadsLainey on youtube. There is a new topic every week, and you talk about your Top 5 books based off the topic. You can find the topics over at the Goodreads group if you want to join in, or you can check out other posts and participants at the Complete List of Wednesday-ers.

This weeks’ theme is Top 5 Books You’re Thankful For.

Harry Potter by J. K. Rowling

Alanna: The First Adventure by Tamora Pierce

Faith of the Fallen by Terry Goodkind

Rebellion by Nora Roberts

The Abhorsen Chronicles by Garth Nix

  


Harry Potter… was my childhood and I would be a completely different person if not for those books.

Alanna was the first book other than Harry Potter that I read as a child. It literally made me realize that there were other books out there that were worth reading. I very frequently go back and read pieces of this series and its companions.

Now, Faith of the Fallen is technically the sixth book in the Sword of Truth series, and while the first five were just as outstanding, Faith of the Fallen made me think so much. There is a lot of philosophy in the series, but this one just makes you think about what is being said, and how things are and why.

Rebellion was the first romance novel I ever read. I found it on a bookshelf when I was thirteen, and I’m pretty sure I was bored and just started reading it. It’s historical, set in 1700’s Scotland, and even though the sex scenes were a little awkward, I loved it. I don’t read them often anymore, but I really love romance novels and for a time they were all I read.

And finally the Abhorsen Chronicles. (I’m not going to try to pick one, because I have a bind-up of all three.) For a couple years I didn’t read books. I really got into t.v. shows for the first time, and found fanfiction (which I had read before, but wasn’t super into then) and ended up setting aside books. I started reading again last year, a book at a time. But the Abhorsen Chronicles made me want to immerse myself in different worlds again… and I love them for that.

Honorable mentions go to The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett and The Eyes of the Dragon by Stephen King. While neither are among my top favorites, I have the copies that belonged to my great-grandma. I got them when she died, and that they were hers and they make me feel a bit closer to her, and that makes me thankful for them.

Leave a Reply

