T5W- Books to read by the fire!

Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly blog/vlog post created by Lainey over at GingerReadsLainey on youtube. There is a new topic every week, and you talk about your Top 5 books based off the topic. You can find the topics over at the Goodreads group if you want to join in, or you can check out other posts and participants at the Complete List of Wednesday-ers.

This weeks theme is books to read by the fire! Otherwise known as winter/holiday recommendations.

  

Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares by Rachel Cohn and David Leviathan

My True Love Gave to Me: Twelve Stories edited by Stephenie Perkins

A Little Something Different by Sandy Hall

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling

Lirael by Garth Nix

I read Dash and Lily every December, because I just think it is such an amazing and fun Christmas story. Rachel Cohn and David Leviathan together are my favorite co-authors, and even though Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist is their most popular book, I really think this one is the best. (And I’m really hoping they make it movie, because Nick and Norah, and Naomi and Ely’s No Kiss List have been made into movies that were great. So please.)

My True Love Gave to Me is the only other actual Christmas/holiday book. It was one of the first books I reads this year, and it was great. Some of the stories are better than others, but they’re all fun and completely capable of putting you in a festive mood.

Since I haven’t read any other holiday themed books, I picked A Little Something Different, because it gives all the warm fuzzies. It’s a really cute book about two young college students who are both a bit socially awkward. But it is the story of how they get together from everyone but the two main characters. There are perspectives from one of their professors, a mutual friends, classmates… And I think it was done really well, and that the adorable-ness would be great for winter.

Then I think Sorcerer’s Stone has the best Christmas of the Harry Potter books. I haven’t reread them in so long, but his first Christmas at Hogwarts was beautiful. And I think that it’s a great thing to read during the holidays.

Then the last book I’m going to recommend is Lirael. It’s the second book in the Abhorsen Chronicles (also called the Old Kingdom series). It just popped into my head as I was trying to think of a last book. But I think Lireal would be a great winter read. The Old Kingdom is such a great world. And I love the friendship that is in this story. Sabriel, the first book would also be a good book to cozy up with when it’s cold outside.

Look how cute my bookshelf is with a bunch of little LED tea lights. There’s more garland on it now though, this picture is from a week ago.

Leave a Reply

