The TBR Book Tag!

Hey! Jessica from MudandStars tagged me for the TBR Book Tag!! Thanks so much! I’m always so surprised and happy with anybody tags me for anything.


How do you keep track of your TBR pile?

For the books I own, I have a bookshelf that is dedicated to unread/TBR books. I have an “owned TBR” shelf on Goodreads, and I only keep unread kindle books on my devices. I might try a TBR jar or some thing next year, but I have to actually decide soon.

Is your TBR mostly in print or ebook?

I have no idea. I think I have more unread books in print. But since I found BookBub that might change…

How do you determine which book from your TBR to read next?

Currently I have a stack of books that I wanted to read this year, so they make up my immediate TBR. Usually I pick whatever I’m in the mood for, or if I’m doing a reading challenge, I try to go by the challenges.

A book that’s been on your TBR the longest?

I feel like Witch-Hunt or Religion for Atheists, from a few years back. Or Afterworlds by Scott Westerfield, it’s one of the books I first bought when I got back into reading last year.

A book that you recently added to your TBR?

The Man in the High CastleThe Man in the High Castle by Philip K. Dick. I saw the trailer for Amazon’s original show, and thought it looked awesome, and then saw that it was based off a book. (I’m pretty sure there are more recently added books, but whatever, I thought of this one first.)

A book on your TBR strictly because of its beautiful cover?

Peter PanI don’t buy anything just for its cover. Sometimes I spent a few extra bucks for a cover. For example I just spent four more dollars for the movie tie-in edition of the Danish Girl. I got the Puffin Chalk edition of Peter Pan, because it’s really pretty. But I didn’t spend more for this edition, and I wanted Peter Pan, so why not get a copy with a nice cover.

A book on your TBR that you never plan on reading?

Um, probably Little Women. I have an old copy that I found in my grandma’s garage, but I don’t think I’ll read it. Not any time soon, at least. Possibly the Lord of the Rings trilogy… It’s been recommended to me since I was seven and I do want to read it. But I’ve tried a few times and wasn’t able to get into it.

An unpublished book on your TBR that you’re excited for?

A Gathering of Shadows by V. E. Schwab is one book I am super pumped for. I think the world is so cool, and fascinating. And I loved Kell and Lila, I think they’re both such interesting and bad-ass characters. Plus, look at the freaking cover. I mean, how beautiful is it?

A book on your TBR that everyone has read but you?

I feel like everyone has read Landline by Rainbow Rowell and I’ll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson.

A book on your TBR that everyone recommends to you?

Simon Vs. the Homo Sapians Agenda by Becky Albertali and Illuminae by Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman are being recommended a lot right now.

A book on your TBR that you’re dying to read?

The Heart of Betrayal (The Remnant Chronicles, #2)I don’t even know anymore. It was The Last Olympian by Rick Riordan, but I just finished it (and it was so awesome!). The Heart of Betrayal by Mary E. Pearson. The way Kiss of Deception ended, oh man. So that is definitely one I’m excited for. And the Heros of Olympus series, I’m really excited for, because I know I’m going to love them.

How many books are in your Goodreads TBR?

Wow I just checked. Okay, I have 907 on my “to read” shelf and 176 on my “owned TBR” shelf. Can I make myself feel better about the “to read” shelf by saying I should probably purge it? Some books have been there a while, and I might have lost interest, so I’ll probably do that soon.


I don’t know who has or hasn’t done this tag, but if you do, comment here so I can find it! I love reading these.

Leave a Reply

