T5W- Series I Want to Start in 2016

Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly blog/vlog post created by Lainey over at GingerReadsLainey on youtube. There is a new topic every week, and you talk about your Top 5 books based off the topic. You can find the topics over at the Goodreads group if you want to join in, or you can check out other posts and participants at the Complete List of Wednesday-ers.

This weeks topic, the top five series you want to start in 2016. And yes I’m posting this really late on Sunday. I thought it went up, as I did schedule it for Wednesday. And I didn’t remember to check because of Christmas and family festivities. But here it is. Super late.

The Heros of Olympus by Rick Riordan

Chaos Walking by Patrick Ness

Firebird by Claudia Gray

The Queen of the Tearling by Erika Johansen

Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

  


I just finished the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series, and they were all so freaking fantastic. One of my Christmas presents to myself was the hardcover box set of the Heros of Olympus, and it’s beautiful and I’m so excited. So I’m planning on starting it as soon as I can next year.

I really want to read the Choas Walking trilogy. I’ve heard nothing but absolutely amazing things about it. I currently only own the first book, The Knife of Never Letting Go. Each of them are freaking huge books, so I’m a bit anxious, but so pumped for them.

I only own A Thousand Pieces of You right now of the Firebird trilogy/series, but it just sounds awesome. I love the whole alternate universes, and jumping dimensions. I think it’ll be really cool. And on top of that there’s the murder of the main character’s father, and a love interest. And I hope that there is a bit of nerd in there, what with the science of skipping across different worlds.

The Queen of the Tearling series (how many are there supposed to be?) sounds so interesting! I think I’ll really like the politics, and the world building that are supposed to be in it. I like that romance isn’t supposed to play a big part, and that it’s supposed to be her figuring out how to rule her country.

Then the Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy was another self Christmas present (go bookoutlet) and the angels and demons aspect just sounds awesome to me. I’ve heard the writing for these books is really amazing as well, so I’m looking forward to that. And I’m hoping Karou is as awesome as I’m imagining based off the description.

The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare I’m going to make my little plus one. I’ve read the first two, City of Bones and City of Ashes. And I own all but City of Heavenly Fire. I’ve heard a few places that you’re supposed to read The Infernal Devices trilogy alongside the last three of the Mortal Instruments? Is that true? Please comment if you know, because it would suck to spoil myself for parts of either series.

One thought on “T5W- Series I Want to Start in 2016

  1. Karou is awesome! Hope you enjoy the series. And I would recommend reading The Infernal Devices series before City of Heavenly Fire, but I personally didn’t do that, and it didn’t ruin my enjoyment of the book. But I do think there were aspects I would have gotten much more out of if I had.

Leave a Reply

