New goals for 2017.

So it’s a new year. 2017 is a year that I’m slightly apprehensive about because of certain things, people and family stuff that I don’t really want to talk about. But, personally, I feel like this could be a good year for me. I feel weirdly optimistic.

Just a note, there are a lot of links to different things in this post. This isn’t sponsored or anything like that. It’s just the sites and apps I’m using, and I’m talking about them.

Firstly, I’ve decided to keep a weekly schedule. I’ve had to keep track of my work hours for as long as I’ve been working. But I kind of miss those homework planners that I used to use back in school. I found this awesome printable weekly planner from this Etsy store, IdigoPrintables. It has a Top Goals, To Do List, daily habits, and a little extra notes section along with the actual day boxes. Mostly I’m hoping that this will motivate me to actually do my classwork. I’m enrolled in Penn Foster‘s high school with early college classes, and I signed up last January, and I’ve only completed like an eighth of the program. Because I am a fucking slacker. But I am hoping to change that. And I feel like this will help me. Seeing things on physical paper rather than just on a screen. So we’ll see.

I finally got my replacement Fitbit Alta, and while I don’t actually go out much, I have decided to work out regularly. Fitbit has this companion app blog-05-bundle-fitstar3.0-launch copyFitstar, that actually tailors workouts for you, even as a free app and then there is a lot of premium stuff too that I might pay for if I actually stick to working out for longer than a month. (Sidenote: if you’re interested in a premium account, I have a referral code- C87V1Q ) It’s been less than a week, but so far I really like the app. It has a really good format and easy instructions for the exercises. It also has some awesome playlists.

img_2157I’ve started doing Elevate brain training or whatever it’s called. It’s fun and challenging. Right now I’m doing a free trial month of the premium games. It’s actually slightly expensive for the pro features so I don’t know if I’ll keep it, but the games are so good.

I’m also attempting to learn two languages. Again, I’ve just started, and I’m using Duolingo. I started Spanish a few months back, and just kind of fell out of using it. But I’m picking it back up because I’m the least Latina that ever Latina-ed. Seriously, I don’t know anything about that whole side of my family. But I think I’m in ‘level 2’. I’m also in the 2nd level of Norwegian. I watched and loved SKAM, and when I saw it on the list of languages I figured, why not? So far it’s surprisingly easy. And it helps me anyway, going back and forth between Spanish and Norwegian.

So these are the things I’ve recently started that I’m hoping will improve my life this year. And if it doesn’t necessarily improve my life, at least it will me stuff to do. This year has already just exhausted me, mentally. I have a few other things in mind to attempt. I want to learn and experience things this year. I’m turning twenty-one in less than two months, and I just really want to try to do exciting things.

 

Leave a Reply

